Cara Mengajar Bahasa Inggris Untuk Anak SD (Speaking)

Sudah membaca kan artikel sebelumnya  tentang penggunaan media (kain flanel) untuk membuat anak lebih betah belajar? Sekarang kita fokus ke hal lain. Yang saya ajar adalah anak kelas 4 SD. Di SK KD untuk kelas 4, para murid sudah harus bisa mengungkapkan kesantunan dalam percakapan. Untuk hal ini  saya menekankan penggunaan “Can I?”,”Could I”,”May I”, “Do you mind if…”

Ketika saya dan si anak membuat smiley dari kain flanel, saya sengaja hanya menyiapkan satu gunting. Saya tidak memintanya menyiapkan sendiri. Kemudian saya tanya “Tahu apa yang harus dikatakan kalau mau pinjam sesuatu?”

Kemudian saya memintanya mengucapkan: “Do you mind if I borrow your scissors?” Lalu saya jelaskan kenapa memakai “Do you mind…” karena itu pernyataan yang sopan dan formal ketika kita ingin melakukan sesuatu dan karena dia (si anak) berbicara pada orang yang lebih tua. Lalu saya juga bilang pakai ‘May I?” juga boleh. “May I borrow your scissors?”

“Can I borrow your scissors?” boleh digunakan asal dengan teman sebaya. Kemudian, saya juga menekankan penggunaan kata ‘please’ di belakang, supaya kalimat juga terdengar lebih sopan. Supaya anak tidak lupa aturan-aturan ini, cobalah ulangi di pertemuan-pertemuan berikutnya saat mereka ingin melakukan sesuatu (meminta ijin untuk melakukan sesuatu).

Saya juga selalu mengevaluasi cara mengajar saya. Setiap selesai memberikan les privat, saya selalu mengingat-ingat apa yang berhasil apa yang tidak. Bila ada metode atau teknik yang tidak efektif, sebaiknya diganti dengan cara lain yang lebih tepat.

7 thoughts on “Cara Mengajar Bahasa Inggris Untuk Anak SD (Speaking)

  1. peter says:

    I’m a student of SHS, i teach private course, but i have a problem to teach them, my teaching is just 2 hours, they are serious in an hour but after that, they always make something noise, they don’t give a damn, sometimes i am angry with them, but they don’t care about me, would you help me to resoleve my proplem?

    • aiksastri says:

      Thanks for your comments. Before I help you, would you please tell me what kind of lessons and what methods you use to teach the children? Please share your story as detail as possible to make it clearer for me. I’m waiting for your reply. :-)

    • aiksastri says:

      I think the ideal duration for teaching SHS students is one and a half hour. I think two hours is too long except if they learn TOEFL. TOEFL is a special lesson so we need more time to teach it. Other than that, I think one and a half hour is enough. My suggestion is provide some games, but make sure the games have relations with the topic that you teach in that meeting. Use the games as the tools for students to practice the language.

  2. khozi says:

    how to make a kid can be fluent in conversation for 6 months?

    • aiksastri says:

      It depends on many things. The key is to make them stick to our lesson. Therefore, creating enjoyable activities are important. We should also deliver the materials in a fun way.

  3. Suciy Ag says:

    I teach english private course for elementary student. i want teach them in speaking but so far i have a problem to teach them. i can’t make them say in english directly, they still difficult to say it. so how to make them want to say in english easily?

    • aiksastri says:

      I know it’s sometimes difficult. Maybe one thing that we can do is we have to expose them to the language. Make sure our language is simple. Then when we ask them to say something, it’s necessary to convince them that making mistakes are OK so that they feel secure.

Leave a Reply

